top of page


The ITIL® qualification scheme provides a modular approach to the ITIL framework, and is comprised of a series of qualifications focused on different aspects of ITIL best practice to various degrees of depth and detail.


The tiered structure of the qualification offers candidates flexibility relating to the different disciplines and areas of ITIL and the ability to focus their studies on key areas of interest.

There are five certification levels within the scheme:

Foundation Level

The Foundation level is the entry level qualification which offers you a general awareness of the key elements, concepts and terminology used in the ITIL service lifecycle, including the links between lifecycle stages, the processes used and their contribution to service management practices.

ITIL® Foundation Factsheet page.

Practitioner Level

The Practitioner level is the next stage in the ITIL scheme. It has been developed to provide a step between Foundation and the Intermediate Level and aims to improve the ability of individuals to adopt and adapt ITIL in their organizations.


ITIL® Practitoner Factsheet page. (Coming Soon)      Introduction Video 

Intermediate Level

Intermediate Level

The Intermediate level qualification is the next stage, following Foundation, in the ITIL® scheme. It has a modular structure with each module providing a different focus on IT Service Management. You can take as few or as many Intermediate qualifications as you need. The Intermediate modules go into more detail than the Foundation level, and provide an industry-recognized qualification.


The modules within the ITIL Intermediate level are divided into two categories – Service Lifecycle and Service Capability. Each module has specific courses as listed below.


The Service Lifecycle modules are:


    Service Strategy (SS)

    Service Design (SD)

    Service Transition (ST)

    Service Operation (SO)

    Continual Service Improvement (CSI)


The Service Capability modules are:


    Operational Support and Analysis (OSA)

    Planning, Protection and Optimization (PPO)

    Release, Control and Validation (RCV)

    Service Offerings and Agreements (SOA)

Expert Level

The ITIL® Expert level qualification is aimed at those who are interested in demonstrating knowledge of the ITIL Scheme in its entirety. The certificate is awarded to candidates who have achieved a range of ITIL qualifications and have achieved a well-rounded, superior knowledge and skills base in ITIL Best Practices.


This qualification will benefit you in both your personal and professional development, by aiding career advancement and progress within the IT Service Management field.


You also need to achieve the ITIL Expert level if you want to progress to the ITIL Master Level, which is the highest and final qualification within the ITIL scheme.


The Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) module sits between the Intermediate and Expert levels and is the final required qualification gaining Expert status. It is intended to help you apply and integrate your knowledge of ITIL in real-world settings and in your own workplace. 


Visit ITIL® MALC Factsheet page.

bottom of page