top of page

ITIL® 2011 Expert: Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC)

The intent of the Managing across the Lifecycle (MALC) qualification is to give candidates the skills to support an organization’s service delivery by bridging the service lifecycle stages.


The qualification demonstrates that candidates have learned the value of one combined service management practice as opposed to separate subject areas. ITIL processes and practices, as learnt from the lifecycle and capability streams of the intermediate certificates, are put into a context of delivering this value.


The learning outcomes are intended to bring a candidate from ITIL content knowledge to ITIL content application and integration knowledge, and provide skills that can be used in the workplace in a tangible way.


Testing and validation of knowledge take place within MALC. Specifically the skills of analyzing and evaluating, reflecting the focus on integration when compared with the ITIL intermediate qualifications.


While MALC encompasses the broadest perspectives of service management skills, for example those related to project management and application design, it is not intended to teach these practices, rather to refer to them as contexts for ITIL application. A high-level understanding of these is still expected.


This qualification focuses on strategizing, planning, using and measuring ITIL practices in an integrated functioning model:

  • How the service lifecycle stages form an integrated whole

  • Process integration and interfaces

  • Shared data / information / knowledge.


The ITIL® MALC (Managing Across the Lifecycle) course offers candidates the ability to achieve the ITIL Expert certification upon passing the ITIL® Managing Across the Lifecycle exam.   The course prepares candidates to take the ITIL® Managing Across the Lifecycle Intermediate exam as well as proving valuable knowledge that can be implemented in the workplace. 


This certification completes the ITIL® Intermediate Lifecycle and Capability streams by focusing on the knowledge required to implement and manage the necessary skills associated with the use of the Service Lifecycle.

Course and Learning Objectives:

Upon successful completion of the education and examination components related to this qualification, you can expect to gain competencies in the following:

  • Key concepts of the service lifecycle

  • Communication and stakeholder management

  • Integrating service management processes across the service lifecycle

  • Managing services across the service lifecycle

  • Governance and organization Measurement

  • Implementing and improving service management capability.

Course Approach

Participants will learn the principles and core elements along with the activities and technology & implementation considerations within the Managing across the Lifecycle (MALC) stage of the Service Lifecycle.  An interactive approach is used combining lecture, discussion and case study experience to prepare participants for the ITIL Intermediate Managing across the Lifecycle (MALC) certification exam as well as providing valuable practical knowledge that can be rapidly applied in the workplace.  The Global-MES integrated case study deepens the participant’s appreciation of how ITIL best practices can be applied in order to improve IT performance.  Practical assignments are used throughout the course to enhance the learning experience.​

Course Student Material

Students will receive an ITIL 2011 Managing across the Lifecycle (MALC) classroom workbook containing all of the presentation materials, course notes, case study and sample exams.


4 Days


ITIL 2011 Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC)

Course Delivery

Classroom, Virtual Classroom or Self-paced E-learning


Upon successfully achieving the ITIL 2011 Managing across the Lifecycle (MALC) certificate, students will earn 5 credits in the ITIL® 2011 qualification scheme.


Project Management Institute –Professional Development Units (PDUs) = 35

Target Audience

The qualification prepares you to work in established service management roles, as well as to implement and improve service management practices. The target group for the MALC qualification includes, but is not limited to:

  • Chief information officers

  • Senior IT managers

  • IT professionals and practitioners

  • Individuals who require a business and management level understanding of the ITIL service lifecycle and how it may be implemented to enhance the quality of IT service provision within an organization

  • Individuals seeking the ITIL Expert in IT Service Management certificate, for which this qualification is the final mandatory module

  • Individuals seeking progress towards the ITIL Master in IT Service Management, for which the ITIL Expert in IT Service Management certificate is a prerequisite.

Prerequisites For Examination

If you wish to be trained and examined for this qualification must already have two (2) credits from the ITIL Foundation certificate and must, as a minimum, have obtained a further 15 credits from ITIL Intermediate qualifications, and therefore a total of at least 17 credits. Documentary evidence of this must be presented by candidates for the MALC qualification.


In addition to the prerequisite entry criteria, in order to be eligible for the MALC examination you must have undertaken at least 30 contact hours for this syllabus as part of a formal, approved training course/scheme with an accredited training organization (ATO) or an accredited e-learning solution.

About the Examination

  • Multiple choice, gradient-scored questions based upon a single case study, issued in advance, with additional short scenarios to provide additional context for each question.

  • Number of Questions: 10

  • Pass Score: 35/50 or 70%

  • Exam Delivery: Online or paper based

  • Exam Duration: 120 minutes

  • Open/Closed Book: Closed Book

Download Factsheet

bottom of page