top of page

ITIL® 2011Intermediate: Continual Service Improvement (CSI)

The ITIL Intermediate Qualification: Continual Service Improvement Certificate is a free-standing qualification, but is also part of the ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle stream, and one of the modules that leads to the ITIL Expert Certificate in IT Service Management. The purpose of this training module and the associated exam and certificate is, respectively, to impart, test, and validate the knowledge on industry practices in service management as documented in the ITIL Continual Service Improvement publication. The course syllabus covers the management-level concepts and core information of the activities and techniques within Continual Service Improvement, but not specific details about each of the supporting processes.

Course and Learning Objectives:

This qualification presents a complete overview of CSI including all its related activities: to continually align and realign IT services to changing business needs by identifying and implementing improvements to IT services that support business processes. This qualification reviews improvement activities as they support the lifecycle approach through service strategy, service design, service transition and service operation.


You can expect to gain competencies in the following upon successful completion of the education and examination components related to this certification:

  • Introduction to CSI

  • CSI principles

  • CSI process

  • CSI methods and techniques

  • Organizing for CSI

  • Technology considerations

  • Implementing CSI

  • Challenges, critical success factors and risks

Course Approach

Participants will learn the principles and core elements along with the activities and technology & implementation considerations within the Continual Service Improvement stage of the Service Lifecycle.  An interactive approach is used combining lecture, discussion and case study experience to prepare participants for the ITIL Intermediate Continual Service Improvement certification exam as well as providing valuable practical knowledge that can be rapidly applied in the workplace.  The IPSC integrated case study deepens the participant’s appreciation of how ITIL best practices can be applied in order to improve IT performance.  Practical assignments are used throughout the course to enhance the learning experience.

Course Student Material

Students will receive an ITIL 2011 Continual Service Improvement classroom workbook containing all of the presentation materials, course notes, case study and sample exams.


4 Days


ITIL 2011 Continual Service Improvement

Course Delivery

Classroom, Virtual Classroom or Self-paced E-learning


Upon successfully achieving the ITIL 2011 Continual Service Improvement certificate, students will earn 3 credits in the ITIL 2011 qualification scheme.


Project Management Institute –Professional Development Units (PDUs) = 28

Target Audience

Chief information officers (CIOs), Chief technology officers (CTOs), IT Managers, operational staff, and anyone requiring a deeper knowledge of or who are involved in the Service Strategy cluster of processes and functions.

Prerequisites For Examination

To be eligible for the examination leading to the ITIL Continual Service Improvement Certificate, you must fulfil the following requirements:

  • Undertake at least 21 contact hours with an Accredited Training Organisation (ATO) or an accredited e-learning solution

  • Hold the ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management

About the Examination

  • Multiple choice, scenario-based, gradient scored questions

  • Number of Questions: 8

  • Pass Score: 28/40 or 70%

  • Exam Delivery: Online or paper based

  • Exam Duration: 90 minutes

  • Open/Closed Book: Closed Book

Download Factsheet

bottom of page